Notifications

My BISF House Bathroom Refurbishment Project  

Page 2 / 3

BISF Admin
Admin
(@bisfadmin)
Noble Member

Here's a selection of various stages of the refurbishment process.

[unitegallery bathroom2]

BISF Admin
Admin
(@bisfadmin)
Noble Member

I also wanted to introduce a little musical relaxation into the room using speech activation via the Amazon Alexa device. This in itself represented a challenge as all electrical connections etc had to be waterproof and of the correct standard to be fitted into a room that often gets wet and damp. Now obviously, electrics and water do not mix plus it would be unlawful for me to fit the electrics myself as I am not a qualified electrician.

I still managed to complete most of the installation myself as I chose to fit the small amplifier inside a waterproof box designed for garden electrical fittings. The box had to be waterproof because my loft can also get a little damp at times and I did not want to take any risks. The power for the amplifier was delivered using remote control power sockets so I didn't have to keep climbing into the loft to switch the unit on. I called in an electrician to install a waterproof 12v power supply for my Alexa DOT which was then mounted inside the wall cavity near to the shower. Alexa was placed inside a waterproof pvc pouch to prevent any contact with moisture and fully sealed.

Fitting the speakers into the ceiling was pretty straightforward but I had to be careful to position them in between the ceiling joists.

I also had a motion detector installed into the ceiling in order to do away with the typical bathroom pull cord for my lights.

Once complete, the entire system worked really well. I could simply enter my bathroom and ask Alexa to play my favourite music and then relax in a nice hot bath.